A session reads as Zone 3 on one wearable and Zone 2 on another because each brand applies its own zone formula to an unverified maximum heart rate, while whether optical sensor accuracy worsens or improves across exercise intensities remains contested. At Longevity Benchmark, we see readers get confused most often when they compare training readouts across different fitness watches and assume every device tracks cardiovascular intensity against the same physiological baseline.

The Verdict

The underlying metric logged during steady training is heart rate (HR) in beats per minute (bpm), but how that number maps into training zones depends on proprietary software choices. Garmin and Polar calculate Zone 2 as 60 to 70 percent of an age-estimated maximum heart rate, a current Fitbit device uses 40 to 59 percent of heart rate reserve (HRR), COROS anchors default analysis to 80 to 90 percent of threshold heart rate, and Apple Watch relies on an undisclosed personalized formula. These structural differences mean that a 45-year-old exercising at 130 bpm can sit in Zone 3 on one screen and Zone 2 on another during the exact same workout.

Why Target Zones Shift Across Fitness Trackers

Target zones shift across fitness trackers because manufacturers apply distinct mathematical models to estimate cardiovascular intensity from unverified maximum heart rates.

Every default zone calculation that relies on an age formula inherits significant baseline error. In an analysis published by Sarzynski and colleagues in the American Journal of Human Biology, age-predicted maximum heart rate carried a standard error of roughly 10 to 12 bpm. Approximately 95 percent of individuals fell within plus or minus 22 bpm of the predicted value, and chronological age explained only about 36 percent of the variance in measured maximum heart rate.

When a wearable sets training thresholds from 220 minus age, the entire five-zone ladder shifts up or down according to that initial prediction error. A runner whose actual maximum heart rate sits 15 bpm above their age prediction will find that default Zone 2 paces feel unusually sluggish. Conversely, an individual whose true maximum is 15 bpm lower will experience Zone 2 training as an unsustainable effort. Readers exploring base endurance methods can review our Zone 2 cardio training guide for deeper physiological context.

Comparison of Default Zone Boundaries by Manufacturer

Default zone boundaries vary across major wearable manufacturers in both their reference anchors and their transparency, with options listed alphabetically below.

The table below outlines the default models across six platforms, listed alphabetically. Because brands use different anchors such as maximum heart rate, heart rate reserve, or threshold heart rate, identical heart rate values map to different training bands across systems.

DeviceDefault Zone 2 ModelDefault Zone 2 RangeMaximum Heart Rate BaselineSettings Adjustment Options
Apple Watch Undisclosed percentage of maximum heart rate Undisclosed by manufacturer Undisclosed personalized calculation Manual adjustment of zones 2, 3, and 4 boundaries
COROS Lactate Threshold model (default in EvoLab) 80 to 90% of threshold heart rate 207 minus (0.7 x age) suggested Lactate Threshold, Heart Rate Reserve, or Max Heart Rate models
Fitbit (Current) Heart rate reserve (Moderate / Fat burn) 40 to 59% of heart rate reserve 220 minus age (heart rate reserve = that maximum minus resting heart rate) Custom maximum heart rate setting
Fitbit (Older) Percentage of maximum heart rate (Fat burn) 50 to 69% of maximum heart rate 220 minus age Custom maximum heart rate setting
Garmin Percentage of maximum heart rate 60 to 70% of maximum heart rate 220 minus age Switch to %HRR or edit %Max. HR values
Polar Percentage of maximum heart rate (Light) 60 to 70% of maximum heart rate 220 minus age Custom zone limits in user profile
Whoop Not published Not published Not published Check settings in mobile application

Garmin and Polar Maximum Heart Rate Percentage Bands

Garmin and Polar structure their default training zones around five fixed percentages of maximum heart rate, defining Zone 2 as 60 to 70 percent of that ceiling.

According to the Garmin fenix 5X webhelp manual, Garmin defines five commonly accepted heart rate zones. Zone 1 spans 50 to 60 percent for relaxed, easy pace and beginning-level aerobic training. Zone 2 spans 60 to 70 percent for comfortable pace, slightly deeper breathing, and basic cardiovascular training. Zone 3 spans 70 to 80 percent, Zone 4 spans 80 to 90 percent, and Zone 5 spans 90 to 100 percent.

Garmin uses profile information entered during setup to establish default zones, using 220 minus age as the baseline maximum heart rate, as described in Garmin user profile documentation. Users can adjust these parameters by selecting %Max. HR or %HRR in settings, as noted in the Garmin heart rate zones settings. The device enables maximum heart rate auto-detection by default, updating only when a measured heart rate exceeds the stored profile value. These bands may differ on newer hardware or once auto-detection alters the maximum.

Polar applies an identical percentage structure in the Polar Team Pro user manual. Polar defines Zone 2 (Light) as 60 to 70 percent of maximum heart rate, which it calculates as 220 minus age, citing an example of a 30-year-old with a maximum of 190 bpm. Polar notes that this band improves base fitness, supports recovery, and is suitable for 40 to 80 minute sessions.

Fitbit Reserve Calculations and Undisclosed Apple Watch Metrics

Fitbit calculates default moderate training zones using heart rate reserve on current hardware, whereas Apple Watch applies an undisclosed proprietary percentage to maximum heart rate.

According to Fitbit support documentation, current devices personalize zones using heart rate reserve, defined as maximum heart rate minus resting heart rate. The maximum baseline derives from 220 minus age. Current hardware categorizes Light as under 40 percent of reserve, Moderate (Fat burn) as 40 to 59 percent, Vigorous (Cardio) as 60 to 84 percent, and Peak as above 85 percent. Older Fitbit models instead use percentages of maximum heart rate, setting Fat burn to 50 to 69 percent.

Fitbit provides a worked example for a 45-year-old individual with a resting pulse of 74 bpm. With an age-predicted maximum of 175 bpm, the resulting heart rate reserve is 101 bpm. The moderate zone computes to 114 to 134 bpm, vigorous spans 135 to 159 bpm, and peak starts at 160 bpm. Fitbit targets 150 weekly Active Zone Minutes, counting vigorous and peak minutes double, attributing this guideline to the American Heart Association (AHA). Notably, a table in Fitbit documentation mislabels the formula text, but the worked numbers compute 40 to 59 percent of heart rate reserve.

Comparing that same 45-year-old on Garmin illustrates the cross-platform divide. Garmin calculates Zone 2 as 60 to 70 percent of 175 bpm, resulting in 105 to 123 bpm. Fitbit places moderate effort between 114 and 134 bpm, creating a 9 to 11 bpm divergence. For readers seeking age-specific tables, our Zone 2 heart rate by age guide details distribution percentiles.

Apple Watch documentation differs by maintaining formula opacity. The Apple Watch User Guide confirms that heart rate zones represent percentages of maximum heart rate automatically calculated and personalized using health data. Zones require an entered date of birth in the iPhone Health app. However, Apple does not disclose its calculation formula or publish default band percentages. For manual adjustment, the guide specifies: Tap Manual, tap zone 2, 3, or 4, then enter lower and upper limits. Users cannot set the outer bounds, only the interior thresholds.

COROS Threshold Anchors and Whoop Documentation Limits

COROS anchors its primary analytical model to estimated threshold heart rate rather than maximum capacity, while Whoop does not publish public documentation detailing its default calculations.

In a guide published on COROS heart rate zones metrics, COROS provides three distinct configurations: Lactate Threshold, Heart Rate Reserve, and Max Heart Rate, each divided into six zones. The EvoLab platform defaults to the Lactate Threshold model for evaluation. In that system, Zone 2 (Aerobic Endurance) spans 80 to 90 percent of threshold heart rate, rather than maximum heart rate. For maximum heart rate estimation, the guide suggests the Gellish equation of 207 minus (0.7 x age). Explicit percentages are published only for the Lactate Threshold model Zone 2.

Whoop presents a different challenge because its technical support documentation is not publicly accessible. Public verification attempts against Whoop support documentation returned HTTP 401 and 403 access restrictions. Consequently, Whoop does not publish accessible documentation of its default zone basis, percentage bands, or maximum heart rate parameters. Users tracking effort on Whoop must check their profile boundaries within the mobile application. Readers evaluating wearable feature sets can review our Garmin vs Whoop feature comparison.

Contested Sensor Accuracy Across Exercise Intensities

Wrist-based optical heart rate sensors use photoplethysmography (PPG) to detect blood volume changes, but published research disagrees on whether measurement error increases or decreases at higher exercise intensities.

Fitbit support documentation describes the underlying sensor technology, noting that devices use green light-emitting diodes (LEDs) flashing rapidly to track capillary blood volume changes in the wrist. The documentation acknowledges that tracking accuracy is influenced by user physiology, device position on the arm, and movement type.

One line of evidence indicates that optical error expands as exercise intensity climbs. In a trial published by Martin-Escudero and colleagues in Bioengineering, researchers tested four wrist wearables against electrocardiography (ECG) across 1,286 paired samples. At low intensity under 100 bpm, mean differences were modest: TomTom Runner Cardio was -0.1 bpm, Apple Watch was -0.5 bpm, Fitbit Charge was +4.5 bpm, and Samsung Gear S2 was +26.7 bpm. At moderate intensity between 100 and 150 bpm, errors rose to +0.3 bpm for TomTom, +0.4 bpm for Apple, +10.3 bpm for Fitbit, and +49.9 bpm for Samsung. At high intensity above 150 bpm, errors expanded further to +2.7 bpm for TomTom, +1.2 bpm for Apple, +24.5 bpm for Fitbit, and +86.6 bpm for Samsung, leading authors to conclude that tracking accuracy is compromised as intensity increases.

Under controlled laboratory protocols, modern flagships achieve close tracking against clinical standards. In a study by Ho, Yang, and Li in Digital Health, Apple Watch Series 6 demonstrated a mean absolute percentage error (MAPE) of 0.92% at the moderate/vigorous boundary and 0.91% at the vigorous upper cutoff against 12-lead ECG. A Garmin Forerunner 945 recorded MAPE values of 1.16%, 1.26%, and 1.39% across three intensity points under the same protocol.

Conversely, an investigation by Schweizer and Gilgen-Ammann in JMIR Cardio reached conflicting conclusions regarding intensity. Testing a wrist-worn Polar Vantage V2 against a Polar H10 chest strap, researchers found the wrist device logged its lowest tracking errors during jogging (MAPE 3.55%) and cycling (MAPE 2.06%). Its highest errors exceeded 10% during low-intensity tasks, specifically walking, lying down, and picking up objects. Because one study found error growing with intensity while another found the highest error during low-intensity movement, the relationship between exercise intensity and optical wrist accuracy remains contested.

Sensor Site Discrepancies and Cadence Interference During Walking

Sensor anatomical placement alters optical heart rate measurement fidelity, with wrist placement experiencing distinct signal interference during walking.

The trial by Schweizer and Gilgen-Ammann compared the arm-worn Polar Verity Sense and the wrist-worn Polar Vantage V2 against an ECG chest strap. The arm-worn monitor demonstrated a bias of -0.05 bpm and an overall MAPE of 1.35%, registering 0.69% during jogging, 0.53% during cycling, and 2.48% while sitting. The wrist-worn monitor demonstrated a bias of +2.56 bpm and an overall MAPE of 6.82%.

A broader evaluation by Sartor and colleagues in BMC Sports Science, Medicine and Rehabilitation tested an optical wrist sensor against a Polar H3 ECG chest strap across 199 participants and 371 hours. While mean absolute errors appeared modest at 1.2 bpm for sedentary time, 2.0 bpm for walking, 2.0 bpm for running, and 1.7 bpm for cycling, the statistical limits of agreement were wide: plus or minus 9.9 to 10.7 bpm for cycling, 10.2 to 10.3 bpm for walking, 13.7 to 14.6 bpm for running, and 17.5 to 19.9 bpm for gym activities.

The elevated error observed during walking carries practical significance for Zone 2 training. Walking is a common modality for base cardiovascular work, yet arm swing during walking occurs in a frequency band that overlaps with human heart rates, creating optical noise for wrist photoplethysmography. For additional device evaluations, see our best fitness tracker guide.

Factors That Alter Wearable Heart Rate Interpretations

Interpreting zone 2 heart rate by device requires separating hardware measurement variance from software boundary definitions.

This analysis does not serve individuals requiring clinical cardiac monitoring, arrhythmia detection, or formal rehabilitation boundaries. Those clinical applications require supervised diagnostic exercise testing rather than consumer fitness trackers.

Our perspective on wearable zone utility would shift if major manufacturers adopted open, standardized physiological definitions and published validation data for their auto-detected maximum heart rates. Until such standardization occurs, default zones reflect brand algorithms rather than universal thresholds.

Evaluating personal aerobic thresholds alongside a licensed clinician or exercise physiologist grounds cardiovascular training in measured physiology rather than proprietary wearable algorithms.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why do my watch heart rate zones differ between devices?

Heart rate zones differ because each manufacturer uses distinct algorithms to define training boundaries. Garmin and Polar calculate Zone 2 as 60 to 70 percent of an age-predicted maximum heart rate, while current Fitbit devices use 40 to 59 percent of heart rate reserve, and COROS defaults to 80 to 90 percent of threshold heart rate. Apple Watch keeps its calculation formula undisclosed. Even when two watches measure the identical heart rate, their software places that pulse into different training zones.

What is the default zone 2 heart rate Garmin uses?

Garmin sets default Zone 2 to 60 to 70 percent of maximum heart rate on devices using its standard profile setup. The baseline maximum heart rate defaults to 220 minus your age unless modified or updated through auto-detection. Garmin permits users to switch their calculation basis to percent of heart rate reserve or enter custom numerical cutoffs. For a 45-year-old with an unadjusted profile, the default Garmin Zone 2 spans 105 to 123 bpm.

How is zone 2 calculated on Apple Watch?

Apple Watch automatically calculates heart rate zones as personalized percentages of maximum heart rate using health data recorded in the iPhone Health app. Apple requires an entered date of birth to generate zones, but the company does not disclose its underlying calculation formula or published band percentages. Users can manually adjust their interior boundaries by tapping Manual and selecting zone 2, 3, or 4 to enter lower and upper limits.

What is the zone 2 heart rate Fitbit assigns during workouts?

Current Fitbit devices define moderate intensity (Fat burn) as 40 to 59 percent of heart rate reserve. This reserve calculation subtracts resting heart rate from an age-predicted maximum of 220 minus age. Older Fitbit hardware instead defines Fat burn as 50 to 69 percent of maximum heart rate. In Fitbit support examples for a 45-year-old with a resting pulse of 74 bpm, moderate intensity spans 114 to 134 bpm.

Does wrist optical heart rate accuracy degrade at higher intensity?

The relationship between optical sensor accuracy and exercise intensity remains contested across published research. In a 2023 evaluation of four wrist devices by Martin-Escudero and colleagues, measurement error expanded as intensity rose above 150 bpm across all tested hardware. Conversely, a 2025 study by Schweizer and Gilgen-Ammann found the wrist monitor logged its largest errors exceeding 10 percent during low-intensity walking, while performing with higher fidelity during cycling and jogging.

Does Whoop publish its default zone 2 heart rate formula?

Whoop does not publish accessible documentation detailing its default heart rate zone models, baseline maximum heart rate formulas, or numerical band boundaries. Public technical support pages for the platform restrict access, preventing external verification of its software parameters. Users tracking intensity on Whoop must inspect their assigned boundaries directly within the mobile application.

Related